



KEEPING YOU INFORMED

June 29, 2012

*** PLEASE POST AT YOUR FACILITY ***

SLF – PRISONERS IGNORE MULTIPLE WARNING SHOTS, TASERS DEPLOYED

On Thursday, June 28th a group of eight prisoners began fighting while in line for their morning chow. The fight quickly escalated, forcing the <u>Tower Officer to fire three warning shots</u> and <u>two ground officers to deploy their tasers twice</u>. Fortunately, no staff were harmed and all eight prisoners were safely removed to segregation.

The fight appeared to have stemmed from an earlier incident, in which one group of prisoners stole property from another. In the aftermath, shakedown squads swept the unit, removed contraband and issued misconduct tickets where appropriate.

It should be noted, that while this story has a favorable ending, the prisoners complete disregard for the warning shot and tasers could have resulted in a much different ending. MCO encourages all members to stay vigilant and keep up the great work being done during these trying times.

DONALD MATHEW JOHNSON, II

Donald Mathew Johnson II (October 8, 1949 - June 23, 2012) passed away Saturday at the age of 62. He was a Corrections Officer at the Lakeland Correctional Facility for 20 years and served in the US Marine Corp in Vietnam from 1968-1970. Don received three Purple Heart Medals for wounds suffered during the conflict and was a Sergeant at Arms in the Grey Dragon Motorcycle Club.

LACK OF PERIMETER VEHCILE LEADS TO SECURITY BREACH AT WCC

On June 23rd an officer working the West Side Yard observed four women walking on the perimeter road. After notifying the control center, the officer approached the group and asked them who had authorized them to be on prison grounds. The Control Center dispatched an armed officer who asked the group for identification but only one claimed to have it. The women were then escorted to West Side lobby area, where they were apparently permitted to leave without further inquiry.

Antarae Robinson	Gabrielle George	John Thomas III	Nicole Slater
Mary Robinson - Brooks	Aaron George - Thumb	John Thomas, Jr Parnall	Kenneth Slater - Oaks
Maya Smith	Beverly Ansorge	Jessica Nagele	Cayla Broton
Ronald Smith - Egeler	Darren Ansorge – West Shoreline	Charles Nagele – Baraga	Robert McGaffigan - Brooks
Haley Smith	Ross Morang	Mikkilea Blinke	Christopher White
Ronald Smith - Egeler	Michael Morang - Oaks	Leah J. Hall – St. Louis	Christopher White - IMax
Joshua Vega	Hannah Meatte	Paige Murphy	Tyler Barker
Francisco Vega Sr Ryan	Al Meatte - Saginaw	Jaime C. Murphy - Thumb	Michael Barker – Carson City
Rachael Schuit	Jordan Tianen	Audra Basal	Lacey Evans
David Schuit - Ryan	Dave Tianen - Marquette	Pamela Basal - Marquette	Scott Evans - IMax

MCO ANNOUNCES THE 2012 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS